Capital: Santo Domingo (population about 2.4 million).
Subdivisions: 29 provinces and the National District of Santo Domingo.

The Dominican Republic occupies the eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola in the Greater Antilles,
with Haiti occupying the western portion. With a land area of 48,442 square kilometers, it is larger than the
Bahamas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, all the Virgin Islands and the entire French West Indies put together.
Distances between cities of the Dominican Republic >>

Caribbean, eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic
Geographic coordinates: 19 00 N, 70 40 W
Situated in the heart of the region, between North and South America, the Dominican Republic is bathed by
the Caribbean Sea on the south coast and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. To the west are Jamaica and Cuba;
Puerto Rico is east beyond the 112-kilometer Mona Passage; and the southern tip of Florida is about 1,000
kilometers away.

Total: 48,730 sq km. Land: 48,380 sq km. Water: 350 sq km

Land boundaries
Total: 275 km. Border countries: Haiti 275 km. Coastline: 1,288 km.

Rugged highlands and mountains with fertile valleys interspersed.
Highest point: Pico Duarte 3,175 m. Lowest point: Lago Enriquillo -46 m